Who’s your mama elephant?… some of the fun I had at TESOL France 2011

TESOL France was wonderful. So warm and wonderful. Could we please do that again as soon as possible. Why? Why have we all spoken, chatted, blogged and tweeted about it non-stop? It was wonderful for a few reasons; the main one being the unbelievable privilege of sharing the same space as some of the top educators in the world today and realising what (this is the last time I’ll use the word) wonderful people they all are in real life.

It was also wonderful because it’s TESOL France. I attended a meeting in September (was it Beth?) where the details of the conference were ironed out over a few glasses of wine and Eric Halvorsen’s nothing-short-of-sensational squash story. I started to feel privileged there. You see, I research motivation, I spend a lot of my time trying to work out what makes people tick. Often this leads me to thoughts of “well will I ever figure anything out?” but that evening I saw motivation in all its glory, crystal clear and it was so clear that it was impossible to put into words. Bethany Cagnol, Ros Wright, Debbie West, Gillian Anderson and Eric Halvorsen met after their long days at their various jobs, making fireworks from scratch.As Vera Dickman pointed out when she introduced Stephen Brewer’s plenary, TESOL France has grown to brilliant heights and continues to do so from a little office hidden in the depths of Telecom Paris Tech.

I felt like I understood for the first time what intrinsic motivation meant. Csikszentmihalyi and Nakamura (1989) talk about this in terms of challenge and level of skill and Schumann (1997) brings a very interesting perspective on aptitude and the ceiling that it places on skill, phrases I’ve read many times and taken for granted. But that night I saw that intrinsic motivation, with it’s utterly unquantifiable yet extraordinarily powerful dimension of reward, shatters that ceiling and soars when teachers meet teachers. I saw infinite skill, infinite energy and infinite drive.

The talk I gave at TESOL France dealt with space, our space as teachers, our attitudes, our expectations and the framework within which these forces interact socially and cognitively. I compared teachers to baby elephants, so lovable, so powerful and so unaware of how powerful. And I asked my audience who their mama elephants were, because baby elephants learn to walk within their mama’s legs and we all have our pillars, four or more. They are part of our ever-growing space. Our ability to re-centre and focus is in knowing where they are and how we can connect with them.

5 thoughts on “Who’s your mama elephant?… some of the fun I had at TESOL France 2011

  1. Loved your talk, Divya. Look forward to hearing more about how your research is moving along.

    I’d love to have a mamma elephant to guide me… and think I have 100s of aunt and uncle and cousin elephants online shaping my professional development. Exciting times.

    Cheers, Brad

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Brad. The blog entry was a bit rushed, in fact done in 9-minute spurts, which is how long it takes my chocolate cookies to come out of the oven:) I have a part 2 on the origins of mama brewing and yes, exciting times, couldn’t agree more!

    Like

  3. My dear, you have made me weep!

    We are so lucky to have such a strong team. And I’m happy you got to witness that before the event itself.

    And I do hope you’ve been bitten by the conference bug and that we will be seeing you speak at many more to come. Your work is truly interesting.

    Bravo, ma cherie,

    Bethany

    Like

  4. Hey I’m still looking for my Mama elephant….Love your blog! I’m looking forward to your next post and have put you on my blogroll. I also hope you’ll being giving another talk at TESOL France. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Diedre, I have a post brewing, just no time to write it! Hope you’re having a good 2012 so far, bisous

      Like

Leave a Reply

